Ten years…

It was just over ten years ago that I moved to Toronto and about the same amount of time since I moved into the house I’m in now. Hard to believe it, but it’s true. When I finally unpacked my boxes and bags (yes, I have interesting moving habits) I wondered just how long I would actually stay in what was at the time, my new home.

In the last 365,032 days (give or take a few) I’ve since done renovation ranging from new cabinets in the kitchen (truth be told it was the property management that handles the heavy lifting) to changing almost all the light fixtures. With the exception of my guest room (the infamous second bedroom) I’ve changed the furniture in every room (so once again the whole place looks like a modern IKEA showroom) and changed my wall art several times.  I’ve also managed to clean out my storage room in my basement which was more than I bargained for.

It’s funny how a place I just happened upon all those years ago has become more than just my home. It has become the place I have lived in the longest while in Canada and the second longest since I was born. (My family home in Sea Isle City still holds that title.)  It is a place where I have had some of the best memories of my life and learned some of the more upsetting and tragic news.  It’s a place where I feel safe and a place where I feel creative.  It’s my home – and from the looks of things, it will continue to be for quite a while.

2 comments

  1. And it was 4 years ago when I first discovered your blog. Time is sure flying. I don’t really follow many blogs like I use to, but I’ve always been keep an eye on yours. You’ve always been an interesting person to me and I’ll also just admit that you’re someone that I would love to meet, but probably never will.

    Anyways, congrats on your ten year milestone in Toronto and it’s great that you have enjoyed your time there. I like Toronto – when I have time, sometimes I like to take a trip to downtown because there is a lot more interesting things down there than in Mississauga.

    I hope your enjoy the summer, Zoey

    Best regards,

Say something!

