Good for what ails me

A lot of people don’t know this about me, but for the past few months, I’ve been seeing a therapist. And when I say “seeing” I don’t mean in a romantic way. I mean in a “lie on the couch and tell me about your life” kind of way.  The reason? I’m depressed.

Now, ask anyone who has ever had even the slightest bit of disappointment in their lives, and more often than not, they will proclaim “I’m depressed” without actually knowing what the word even really means. Most times, saying you’re depressed because of the weather, or you hate your co-workers, or the Leafs lost, doesn’t even begin to cover depression.  Truth is, depression is a scary thing, and if not treated, can only get worse over time.

When I started to notice a few of the signs of depression (Loss of interest or pleasure in activities you used to enjoy, Sleeping more or less, Lack of energy and fatigue) I figured I should probably do something about it. I’ve decided to hold off on anything to do with taking medication – at least for the time being. Talking to someone certainly helps and finding interesting things to do that help me get out of the house and feel animated.

Last night I met up with a few friends and we went for a sushi dinner at this restaurant I hadn’t been to in years. It was nice to get out of the house and do something that didn’t involve pacing back and forth and wondering what the next chapter of my life will hold in store.  And I do feel more positive about myself after talking with someone, both on a friendship level as well as a professional level.

7 comments

  1. As a lifelong sufferer of depression, I know all too well about the impact it can have on a person’s life. Glad your getting help, sounds like it’s working for you. Sadly it’s not the case for everyone, me included. But you learn to cope, one day at a time, slow and steady. Really enjoy reading your blog, keep up the great work, Hope you have a wonderful year, you deserve it Zoey.

    1. Thank you for your kind words. Getting help was something I needed to explore. I needed to see what it, if anything, could it do for me. Hopefully good times are just around the corner.

  2. I`m sorry to hear you`re not feeling 100%.

    I saw a therapist last year for about six months (a couple times a month). It was good to have someone to tell my crappy childhood stories to … but after a while it was just repetitive and I didn`t feel like anything was shifting inside me. So I stopped going.

    1. I’m willing to see where therapy takes me… how it helps and what I get out of it. I’ll take another look at my situation in a few months. Hopefully there will be some improvement.

  3. Its good to know that you’ve taken steps to overcome this problem. It’s always great to have people in your life who support you and help lift your spirits when you’re feeling down. I wish you all the best, Zoey :)

    1. Thank you for your supportive words. Friends do help make things better, but a lot of changes I need to make in my life are up to me. :)

  4. I’m glad you know what’s affecting you and how to fight it. Depression is such a terrible thing that most people don’t understand. I’ve suffered through two bouts of it. One very recently. You may have noticed I wasn’t blogging for a while. Those were tough times. Still are. Take charge! But watch out for Tony Robbins.

Say something!

