Lots of writing… and WrestleMania in Jersey

It’s been a busy week for me this week. Aside from all the writing I’ve been doing for my so-called “grown-up job”, as just about everyone knows by now, I’ve been going through all my old blog posts and putting them on line. All of 2003 and 2004 are up and hopefully 2005 will be done soon. Posts from 2000 to 2002 are harder to come by, not to mention the fact that I didn’t write as many entries back then, yet interestingly enough, a lot was happening in my life.

In the Happy News Department (and Lord knows that department has been lacking a few entries as of late) I was pleased to see that WrestleMania will once again be held in New Jersey, this time at MetLife Stadium in Meadowlands, which of course is home to the New York Giants and New York Jets. But I’m also a little bummed out by this news.

The reason being is that I was really hoping that WrestleMania would make its long awaited return to Toronto. It’s been ten years since it was last hear, so I had my fingers crossed that it was coming back next year. (And with WrestleMania 30‘s location yet to be determined, you can bet that the WWE won’t be putting a massive anniversary show like that in Canada either.)

A lot of rumblings in the internet wrestling world leads people to believe that Vince McMahon’s decision to hold WrestleMania XXIX in the New York area was to beat SuperBowl XLVII to the punch. The NFL is slated to hold the big game there in 2014, so by holding WrestleMania there the year before, Vince can pat himself on the back and say he got there first.

What puzzles me is: why would you willingly hold an event like WrestleMania outdoors in April… in New Jersey? It makes sense, I guess, when you look at this year’s event which is being held outdoors in Miami. But with the chance of rain and cold spring temperatures, it doesn’t add up. Especially considering the performers wearing nothing but wrestling shorts.

I’ve been to a few Manias over the years and the production is always great, but I doubt very much I’ll go to this one. As of late — maybe it’s my old age talking — I would much rather watch the event at a bar or order from the comfort of my home.

Say something!

