New coffee haunt

After being in Toronto for a decade, I feel I need a more “local” coffee shop to hang out at. You know, because being a trendy hipster is what I’m aiming for in this life. And what is a trendy hipster without a cool coffee shop to call my home away from home?

I’ve been doing the Starbucks thing for years. So much so, that I’m surprised there isn’t an imprint of my ass in a couple of the comfy chairs at the store near my house.  But I wanted to branch out from the mermaid and see what else was out there.

Aroma, a coffee shop I had only heard about in passing from a few friends, recently opened a location at The Shops on Don Mills. The location is small, but useful if you’re looking to run in and grab a latte to go. (But good luck finding parking. In their attempt to create an “urban village”, Shops at Don Mills has lived up to expectations of a real city by lacking available parking near every single store I want to go to.)

I’ve also tried Dark Horse Espresso and really liked that too. I find leaving my little world of North York and venturing into the big city, lands me at places I either knew existed but never tried, or brand new places that are just waiting for me to go inside.

Either way, armed with my tools (iPhone, laptop, other gadgets and devices) I’m on the hunt for a new haunt.  Suggestions are always welcome.

2 comments

  1. I do like the changes they made. The old mall was forgettable, to say the least. And they do have a parking garage, so it’s not all that bad. But I’m lazy and I like to go from my car to the store with as few steps as possible. ;)

Say something!

