happy slurpee day!

Did you celebrate 7-Eleven’s birthday? You know I did! Yesterday, on July 11 (7-11) convenience store giant 7-Eleven celebrated its birthday with one of my favorite holidays: Slurpee Day. All day long, stores across North America were giving away free 7.11 oz. cups of the drink that made them famous.

So therefor my original plan had been to visit all 7-Eleven stores in the Toronto area as a way of celebrating. But believe it or not, it’s harder than it sounds. Even with my car and the will to sample as much as I could, I found it tough to accomplish my goal

Not counting the stores in nearby cities, there are 19 stores in Toronto according to their website. While there are less stores than there were back in 2002 when I first started celebrating the “holiday” (and even less compared with back in 1997) there are still more than I could go to in one day — especially considering I wanted to sample a Slurpee at each location.

As well-trained readers will remember, I used to work for 7-Eleven before moving to Canada and while I know exactly what goes into each frozen treat, I still love everything about them. My favorite flavors are Dr. Pepper, Bubble Gum, Cream Soda (the pink ones) and the now defunct Vanilla Coke.

After only three stores, I had to tap out. Sugar overload and my expanding waistline were two contributing factors.  Maybe I’ll have better luck next year.  Over the course of the next 11 months, I can familiarize myself with the stores in Toronto.

The current 7-Eleven stores in Toronto

  • 372 BAY STREET
  • 260 COLLEGE STREET @ SPADINA AVE
  • 883 DUNDAS ST W
  • 873 QUEEN STREET W
  • 334 BLOOR STREET WEST @ SPADINA
  • 1260 DUNDAS ST WEST
  • 1151 QUEEN ST EAST
  • 975 DANFORTH AVE
  • 1169 ST. CLAIR AVE W @ DUFFERIN ST
  • 1730 BLOOR STREET W.
  • 1 EGLINTON AVE EAST @ YONGE ST
  • 705 DON MILLS RD.
  • 3355 DUNDAS ST WEST
  • 2480 LAKESHORE BLVD WEST
  • 3587 BATHURST ST
  • 1390 WESTON RD
  • 980 ISLINGTON AVE @ JUTLAND
  • 3260 LAKESHORE BLVD WEST
  • 1718-A WILSON AVE.
One comment

  1. I would have love to have gotten my Slurpee, but all or most of the Scarbaria stores have gone the way of the dinosaur just like Reid’s Dairy for their twoonie and loonie shakes and sundaes.

Say something!

