a big fat thank you

I just want to thank the good movie-watching people of the world as this past weekend, as somehow everyone got the memo and put the new Julia Roberts movie Larry Crowne in its place — a disappointing fourth place.

Don’t get me wrong… I like Tom Hanks, and despite the lackluster That Thing You Do which was his directorial debut, he has proven he knows his way around a movie set. But casting Julia Roberts is almost a sure way these days to get people to stay away from your film.

And since we’re being honest here, I’ve despised her ever since Pretty Woman. She’s incredibly overrated as an actress and has managed to outstay her welcome in Hollywood for some inexplicable reason.

I’m sure studio execs have already spun their damage control answers, spewing something like “We never expecting to be number one” and “it did respectable numbers for a weekend with Transformers opening as well.” but the truth is, Julia Roberts can’t draw box office numbers anymore and a distant fourth place is proof of that.

You see, the only way Hollywood will ever learn is if people stop going to crappy films and crappy actors and actresses. I explained how this is a problem when a Jennifer Aniston movie opens and people actually pay to see it. Slowly people are getting the message.

Now of course, I must pray that movie watchers around the planet unite again and send another strong message to the ass-hats who thoughts Friends With Benefits was a good idea.  That film opens July 22 and it stars Jutsin Timberlake (really? are you freakin’ serious?) and Meg GriffinMila Kunis. And if people actually go and see this pile of crap, producers will think they did a good job and more tripe like that will be made.

2 comments

  1. I need the “like” button. Almost every Jennifer Aniston movie ever produced is garbage. Julia Roberts… hmm. She’s ok. She certainly isn’t great. But I’ve been so utterly disappointed in movies these last few years that I’ve basically stopped going. I just watch my fav’s over and over again in my basement. Goonies. Ghostbusters. Back To The Future. Ah, the 80’s.

  2. I don’t mind Roberts but won’t go see a movie just because she’s in it. I read some reviews that said this movie sucked so I’m staying away.

    “Friends with Benefits” looks really bad. I saw that piece of crap “No Strings Attached” with Ashton Kutcher … that REALLY sucked!

Say something!

