whatever doesn’t kill you…

So for the last few days, I was sure I was dying.  And honestly folks, I’m still not out of the woods just yet.  As it turns out, there’s a bug going ’round that seems to target persons with over active imaginations, giving them the ability to convince themselves that a simply flu-like cold coupled with being lightheaded means they are one step away from death’s door.

As sadistic as it sounds, I was quite relieved when I found out I wasn’t the only one going through this. (At worst case I figured I would have someone else to share a hospital room with if it came down to that.)

The bottom line is I have “dizziness“. It started out as a normal cold last week, but then progressed to being dizzy and feeling weak and faint when I would sit up fast or move my head.  For the most part, I haven’t said much about it to anyone – namely for fear that they would say “Oh, you should go get that checked out” which almost always (in my mind) leads to the discovery of something much worse.

So there I was, fighting a serious cold, lying in bed with the lights out drinking a SuperBowl’s worth of Gatorade and telling myself “well, if this is the end, it’s been a life well lived, hasn’t it?”

Truth is, I’m not dying – it only feels like it right now. (The joys of the flu and cold season, I guess.)

Just to be on the safe side, I will go probably on Monday or Tuesday to the doctor – it would be silly not to seeing as I live right next to a medical building – and get checked out.  I guess that’s me biting the bullet and figuring that God forbid there is something really wrong, at least they can fix it.

This is probably just one more example for the record that having an overly active imagination and being left to scare one’s self is never a good thing.  Because that’s when all the bad thoughts come out to play.  But like I said, I’m not alone in feeling this sick — a good friend is suffering along side of me.  So we plan to be support for each other in our “hour of need”.  (Which really is nothing more than getting some rest and not letting the ol’ mind wander as much.)

8 comments

  1. There’s a few nasty bugs going around right now. Don’t worry. The light-headed feeling WILL pass in time. It’s just dealing with it for now can be a pain!

  2. Sorry to hear that you don’t feel well. It’s true, the dizziness will pass in a few days, but it’s terrible while you have to deal with it.

  3. I was sick for almost 2 weeks, so I know how you feel. But don’t worry, there IS light at the end of the tunnel – and it’s the good kind of light!

  4. Oh, being light headed is the worst. Best to get it checked out right away in case it’s something to do with an inner ear infection.

Say something!

