Could have used more green

Another St. Patty’s Day has come and gone. Time to put away the green bra and camisole until next year. All in all, it was a pretty good day. Not as much beer-fueled mayhem as I’d imagined, but I did manage to put away a few pints of green beer. And yes, I know that Irish people don’t really drink that stuff in Ireland, but as Homer Simpson once said “It’s a party, Marge. It doesn’t have to make sense!”

The one St. Patty’s letdown came in the form of a media personality who didn’t quite jump on the bandwagon. Naturally most everyone at CityTV was wearing something green and from what I could tell, other media outlets did their share too. But the number one national network here in Canada CTV (a place I’ve had the pleasure of touring behind the scenes once, I might add) fell short in my books. And I’ll tell you why.

Their morning program, “Canada AM” is much like any other national show you’ve seen. The host, in case you’ve never seen it, is Seamus O’Regan. Now come on people! Seamus O’Regan?! With a name like that you’d be expecting him to be dancing an Irish jig while doing the day’s top headlines on St Patty’s Day. While I don’t know how hard hitting stories such as the Air India bombing and Robert Blake verdict would have sounded had he decided to toss in an Irish accent as well, I can tell you this much; it would have been damn funny.

But no. Mr. O’Regan went with a simple green tie and not even so much as a “top o’ the mornin’ to ya” (at least not when I was watching) I understand there has to be some professionalism left in the world of TV reporters, but you can’t get much more Irish than Seamus (pronounced Shay-mus) so maybe next year, providing there are no national tragedies, we could see those Irish eyes a’ smilin’ a little more?

Say something!

