Another day

The biggest problem about coming back to the newsroom after being away for so long is actually having to do work. Granted, most people think my day is pretty easy. I get up, I drive to work, I come in, I look over “dirt-sheets” and see what the Overpaid Crybabies are doing today, then I write about it.

Sometimes I actually do something that comes close to “hard hitting” journalism because I’ll get asked to write a brief about something or do a report on some cool Entertainment related news story, but that’s about it. I save my column for tomorrow on the shared network and then send in a final copy towards the end of the day when I’m sure that celebrities won’t be doing anything else newsworthy before the printing deadline.

So where’s the problem, you might ask. How can you not drag your sorry Slim-Fast drinking ass out of bed and down the street everyday? Yeah, I know. I wonder the same thing. Most times the newsroom is like a club room at college.

You come in, you talk, you do some work, you never seem to go to class and so on. I think it’s just this time of year.
And even when I come home from being in the newsroom all morning, I don’t feel like doing anything. I don’t even want to look at my PalmPilot because I know I’m getting more and more backed up on things I should be doing.Each time I pass the second bedroom and see the ironing board and iron sitting on the dresser, begging for me to finally go to Wal-Mart and buy a new behind-the-door-ironing-board-rack thing for it, I’m reminded about everything else I’ve let go.

And don’t even get me started on my food shopping. friends offered to go with me to the Loblaws Superstore tonight, but there are some days I can’t face that store – and today is one of them. I like to get all my errands done in the morning. Come to work, dart out around10:30 or 11 and get everything done that needs to be done. Either that or wait until something insane like 2:45 in the morning and then go grocery shopping because I know they’ll be nobody else around.

So that’s the kind of day it’s been. Lazy and un-eventful. I’m hoping that tomorrow will be better and maybe I’ll actually knock a few things off my to-do list.

How’s your new year been so far?

Say something!

