It’s a Write-Off!

I’m not going to brag, but I have to do something other than jump for joy or squeeze my fists in little balls and go “Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee” with glee. I just bought gas for my car. I filled up in fact. The sale price was 78.9 cents a liter. It cost me close to $30. And I’m gonna write it off, baby! Yah for me!

I could really get used to this kind of thing. Having the whole Per Diem was cool when I would travel I could write off room service or a meal because the client I was writing for or the paper who sent me to cover whatever it was I was out of town covering, would expect me to eat something. But this is much better. There is a certain sense of pride that comes with knowing you pay for something – and end up getting the money back.

Now, I can’t go crazy and offer to take the Toronto Blue Jays starting line-up out for beers and expect to write it off, but I can buy myself a brew and watch a game – and not have to pay for it!

Things I can’t write off are clothes (which really sucks because Danier Leather is about to have another one of their amazing sales) personal items, lotto tickets, car repairs, booze at the liquor store or beer at the beer store. Also finding itself in the gray-zone are movie outings – unless I can somehow convince Payroll Dept. that going to see Team America had some sort of redeeming entertainment/gossip column value to it.

Turns out one has to be tricky when it comes to knowing what you can claim and what you can’t. Yes, sushi lunches are in as long as I say I was working or doing something that comes close to work. I just chalk it up to the fact that fish is brain food. Sounds good, doesn’t it?

Say something!

