Expense this!

Yah for me! Turns out I’m somewhat important enough to actually get an expense account. This is a huge first for me seeing as most times, the papers I worked for were cheap bastards who didn’t even want to give me a desk, or a parking space or even a paper-clip. Do you know how hard it is to hold together a 5 page report with chewing gum?

Anyway, the Powers That Be granted me an expense account. What is an expense account you might ask? Normally it could be seen as a way of paying you more – without actually paying you more, if that makes any sense. Basically, the newspaper, or whomever you work gives you some cash to spend as you need to, as long as it’s “work-related”.

When I used to travel for business I would get Per Diem (daily spending money provided by the paper or the client) but this blows that out of the water, baby! Now I can expense my gas, my parking and even my meals – as long as it’s work related. Wink. Granted, it’s not a King’s ransom, but it’s a nice size that if I break it down over 12 months, I should be able to buy myself a cheeseburger, large fries and maybe pay for gas every so often. Boo-yah for me!

So now, while it looks like a raise is still far off in the distance, I can at least write things off and get money back for them, which in tern the paper can write off as well. Confusing? Remember that episode of Sienfeld where Kramer and Jerry and blah-blahing about a “write-off” and neither of them really know what a write off is? Well if that episode is on the first two Sienfeld DVDs and I can somehow think how buying it is work-related, then I will be able to “write it off.” How’s that for an interesting lead-in?

By the way, American Thanksgiving dinner was great last night the 35lb turkey was perfect and as always everyone had a great time. Now of course I have to figure out what to do with all the leftovers.

Say something!

