My Halo is slipping

Yes kids, it’s me. You’re not-so-friendly neighborhood columnist blogging in a post at 1:30 in the morning. Why am I up so early, you ask? Because the gang down at Microsoft X-Box just released Halo 2 at midnight and my Editor thought it would be fun for me to cover it.

So I stood around a game store with a bunch of nerdy kids, teens, young adults and grown men who all shared the same belief that Cobra should have used red lasers while GIJoe should have used blue lasers instead of the other way around, and counted down until midnight. Then I got to interview some of the “lucky” people who were among the first to get their hands on the video game.

That’s right. This hype is all about a freakin’ video game. And yes, every single person in line told me they were heading straight home to play it right away. Some even had called in sick already so they could stay home all day tomorrow learning the secret levels and trying to be the first to win the game. I didn’t have the heart to tell any of them that I had already tried the X-Box system and Halo 2 a few months ago when it was on demo at a BenQ/X-Box event. It’s a pretty neat thing, but I suck at video games so all the wonder was lost on me.

So with all these people sitting up happily playing their new game, I’ve sent in my report for tomorrow and now I’m going to bed. If everyone wonders why I’m not at work bright and early you can blame Halo 2

Say something!

