‘Twas the night before Christmas…

A few years ago, my mother said to me that she felt she “nearly missed Christmas” one year. I didn’t know what that meant back then, but now that I’ve gotten older, I can see how the stress of life sometimes gets in the way of the holiday and all the fun. When we’re young, Christmas is everything to us, some however, lose their feelings for the day sooner than others.

The last Christmas my family spent together wasn’t the best. But the year before sure was. We were all together and it was the last time we all sat down as a family. It was my senior year of High School and I could still feel the Christmas spirit. Years later, when I was away at college in Montreal, I sort of felt it again, but that was the last time.

We all get too caught up in the rush of our own lives and forget that the holidays are coming. Some think that starting too early will ruin the magic of Christmas, but the they wait too long and miss it all together. Most of the time, it’s letting things get you down as they have done with me this year. I let myself get into a rut and frankly, I don’t feel very festive.

My words to you this holiday… don’t be like me. Stay happy and find even the little things in life that make you smile. When someone or something brings you down, just stay on top of it and try not to let it over take your life. Maybe, if you try and see the glass half full instead of always half empty, you won’t be like me and lose the Christmas spirit. Maybe you will be able to keep it all year ’round.

All the best to you and yours… stay in good health and in good spirits all year. Merry Christmas to all… and yes, to all a good night.

Say something!

