fanboys movie in toronto? don’t hold your breath

fanboysThere’s one movie I’ve been eagerly awaiting for the past two years and that’s Fanboys.  The story of a group of friends who desperately want to see Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace before it opens. (Apparently they had no clue who Jar Jar Binks was at this point.)

The film grabbed my attention when both my sister and a friend’s brother showed me the trailer, knowing my full-on love for all things Star Wars. (Really, watch it right now and tell me you don’t want to see this movie.)  I was hooked and practically camped out in front of my local cinema awaiting the release.

Well, weeks became months and months became years – but finally Fanboys got its release.  And guess what? It’s not playing in Toronto.  Hell, it’s not even playing in Canada.

It’s playing at “select cinemas” in a “limited release” with more screens being added as the weeks go on.  But still, the biggest city in Canada ends up with squat? That doesn’t seem fair to me.  Russia, Iceland and Singapore of all places have releases lined up, but nothing here yet.  And what really pisses me off is the fact that there’s a big enough fan base here of people who want to see the movie.

At this point I might as well just wait for the Blu-Ray.

But I shouldn’t have to.  I’ve waited for two years for this movie.  And now I’m told that I have to email the Weinstein Company and suggest that the film be released here?  There was a tease that Toronto was on the February 20th release list, but it turned out to be false.  In fact, one of the film’s writers saw my Twitter posting and emailed me to ask where I heard that.  Again, it was confirmed to be nothing more than a rumor.

So I sit and wait for Toronto finally get a Fanboys screening. Or at least one to come to Buffalo or a nearby city.  I’ve waited this long, what’s another few months?

4 comments

  1. GEEEEEEEEYYYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

    ok now that my huge amount of rage over this situation is out of my system. I am entirely with you im from alberta and have been anxiously awaiting the release of this movie since I saw the trailer when i went to see clerks 2.

    Recently there was a poster in a local theatre that said it was to release this weekend on 03/07/09 I am now absolutely astounded byu the fact that this still hasn’t come out I really want to see it I dont want to wait for the dvd release that for all intense and purposes probably will release in singapore and not here from the sounds of things. Nor should I have to wait for it to realease on dvd. I want to sit with a giant bag of popcorn and enjoy this film and for some reason this concept in canada keeps getting stonewalled …hey look still all full of rageahol

Say something!